print version

Leadership changes for Business Department, Executive and Business Development Committees


Jones Waldo has designated Matthew L. Mitton as chairman of the firm’s Business Department. Two board committees have also recently introduced new leadership including Robinson (Rob) M. Alston’s appointment as board secretary making him a member of the firm’s Executive Committee, and Kyle V. Leishman’s appointment as the chair of the Business Development Committee.

Mitton, a graduate of Brigham Young University’s J. Rueben Clark School of Law has dedicated his legal practice to helping people ensure that their estate will go to the right people, at the right time, at the least cost possible. He is a member of the American Academy of Estate Planning and National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys.

Alston graduated from the S.J. Quinney College of Law at the University of Utah and leads three of Jones Waldo’s Practice groups: Joint Ventures and Strategic Alliances, Mergers and Acquisitions and Technology. For more than 20 years, he has helped a wide variety of technology, life sciences, manufacturing, franchising and services companies through the process of starting up, growing and, ultimately selling or going public. He has guided his clients through the legal details of organization, governance, compensation, raising money, finding loans, dealing with employees, acquiring or licensing technology, selling and marketing products, buying other companies and other legal issues.

Leishman, also a graduate of the S.J. Quinney College of Law, represents clients in the areas of real estate development, real estate leasing, real estate and commercial finance, agricultural cooperative law, condominium law, foreclosures and general corporate practice.